problems with mental health team

D

DRAGON

Founding Member
Have a 15 year history of anxiety/depression and panic disorder. On Incapacity benefit and DLA (have not needed a medical examination since 1998 but not exempt and DLA renewed every 3 years. No drug treatment. since 1998.
However, the problem is this, I have been receiving support from a CPN since 1996 up until 2005 when I changed team to my city team (rather than my old town where I had the CPN) I saw a Consultant Pschiatrist every 6 to 8 weeks for abouit 20 minutes but asked to be referred back to my own home city team (same NHS TRust) They offered me the team of a Consultant Psychiatrist against whose wife (also a Conbsultant Psychiatrist in the same team ) against who I had previously complained. I declined on the basis that this would be uncomfortable and in effect a conflict of interest, and the mental health Trust discharged me immediately. They will not even confirm the fact that the 2 consultants are married and cohabiting ( I produced the electoral roll information uop to date to prove it) and will not discuss the merit of my objection. Instead the clinical director treated my objection as a "complaint" wrote discharging me, and said that I have the right to go to the Healthcare Commission.

I firmly beleive they should have offered an alternative Consultant, and certainly they should have addressed the issue, argued their position.

So they are totally non negotiable and evading the issue completely.

I am worried that without secondary care support, it could jeopardise my incapacity benefit/DLA reviews in the future, as officials/medical service doctors might interpret the removal of secondary care as indicative of improvement whereas it really is the case I have problems with the local team and there is bad blood there. It is quite influential on those processes that support is provided and though I should not be thinking of secondary suppport in that way, it is of course a serious issue.