Prescribed 50mg Setraline and I’m so scared!

D

DisneyDream19

Hey,

I’m completely new to this and I’ve come looking for help and support. I’ve suffered with anxiety for as long as I can remember, health anxiety, scared of dying, constantly feeling like I’m going to have a heart attack, panic attacks, feeling like I’m constantly going to be ill. I’ve never gone looking for help but last week I went to my GP for the first time for it. I’m getting married in 3 months and I know this probably isn’t helping towards stress and anxiety levels and I’m struggling to enjoy the whole planning process and look forward to the wedding. My GP today prescribed me with 50mg of Sertraline alongside 10mg Bedranol (which I can take upto 3 times daily). I felt more positive leaving the GP this morning, until I pulled out the leaflet and started reading the side effects. I then went onto google and read so many horror stories of people beginning Sertraline. Its made me so anxious about taking a tablet that is meant to help with my anxiety, if that makes sense? I’m sat here looking at the tablets not knowing what to do. I’m frightened of feeling nauseous as that’s the one thing that I feel most anxious about. Can you please tell me some of your own personal stories with it? Or has anyone taken any herbal methods that have helped them? I have my hen party at Disneyland Paris at the beginning of July and I’m so worried the side effects will effect me from going.

Thanks so much

Sarah

X

Passionflower

Passionflower

I have been on Sertraline for years and have never had any side effects from them. If you do get side effects they should not last much longer than 2 weeks.

H

Helen73

Hi I was on sertraline 200mg for about 10 years. Never experienced any side effects. Even if you do get side effects they should wear off after a few weeks x

H

Helena1

Forum Safety Team
I used to be on it and had no side effects.