• Welcome! It’s great to see you. Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Pregnant with BPD

L

Lilipad

Hi all,

This is my first time posting. I was looking to get some advice from anybody who may of been pregnant and dealing with their BPD. I’m currently 30 weeks pregnant, and so far I’ve been mainly in survival mode during the pregnancies.

I’ve had a few really bad episodes, early on in the pregnancy where I have self harmed, which obviously led to a tonne of guilt and shame. Since then, I haven’t self harmed in around 2-3 months now, which is something I’m super proud of. More recently I’ve been feeling very overwhelmed, and anxious and have been having thoughts of self harm and suicide. Whilst I know that I wouldn’t kill myself or my child, I’m filled with shame about even having these thoughts!

Has anybody got any good tips/distractions when you get to this point? Any advice is really appreciated.

Delilah67

Delilah67

Congratulations!
I presume you have support from your midwife ? As an (ex )midwife I would be making sure you get all the support you need during this vulnerable time.
I’m not sure what you get in the USA?
Lots of women are naturally anxious about being a parent, and of course sleepless nights and hormones make this
a potentially challenging period.
All of this is made easier if you have lots of support and remain open and honest with your care givers. If you find it difficult, talk! If you self harm : talk!
it sounds like you have done wonderfully well so far... so pat on the back!

bpd2020

bpd2020

Hello Lillipad. Welcome to the forum. I do not have any advice but hopefully somebody will post soon who does.

Delilah67

Delilah67