Pre-graduation loneliness

S

sagehoney13

Hi everyone,

I'm new to mental health forum and I really need to get this off my chest. I am graduating high school tomorrow, and in the past few days I have been suffering through severe loneliness that is almost unbearable.
I was homeschooled as a child, and I rarely saw children my own age. When I did see kids, they didn't accept me and left me out. This caused me extreme social anxiety because I never felt accepted. In my life I don't believe I have ever had a true friend who loved me. And it feels like a knife in my heart.
I have basically zero social skills, and while people do like me and think I'm a nice person, I don't have any real friends. As graduation nears I've been ruminating on the pain of being lonely my entire life. It's extremely painful. I worry that I will never make friends and that no one will ever love me. I feel like the weirdest and most unlovable person in the world.
Mother Teresa said "Loneliness and the feeling of being unwanted is the most terrible poverty". I 100% believe this. My heart is broken and I am in searing pain. I feel really alone and lost and literally anything anyone says will be helpful right now. If anyone has a similar experience please share, it would be so helpful.

Hopeful313

Hopeful313

Hi @sagehoney13

Congratulations 🎉🎈🎊.
You’ve accomplished an important era for n your life. High school is stressful enough. You survived the most influential environment. Be assured that graduation is an accomplishment to under all that pressure of being a teenager and wanting to be out and about. Maybe not having close friends was a good thing so they don’t distract you from your studies.

My son goes to high school 🙂. He has one more year to go. I know how it feels as well.

If you are not a social person, it will be very difficult to make friends. You are still young and there’s so much time ahead of you to make friends.