• Share. Be Supported. Recover.

We are a friendly, safe community supporting each other's mental health. We are open 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

Possession

Turtle1980

Turtle1980

So I once went into a fortune teller place to look around the lady went to shake my hand and withdrew quickly never saying why then the voices started, I'm very worried about it. Could this be real

Turtle1980

Turtle1980

I had a few Etcs but I totally went shopping in this lady's store and she wouldn't shake my less than ten seconds and rushed me out now that voices started I was recalling that moment

Turtle1980

Turtle1980

I'm new to hearing voices. I haven't convinced myself it's a chemical imbalance. For the first few months I thought someone implanted something in me or something. The voices are demon like though and scary

NWiddi

NWiddi

Forum Safety Team
Can I ask how old you were when the voices started and how old you are now?

I was just days away from turning 36 when I heard my voice for the first time, I'm about 3 months short of 42. So nearly 6 years.

In the early days before meds I'm sure my voice had control of me like I was possessed, it's shaped my beliefs about what voices really are, that and many other experiences.

People who get diagnosed with Dissociative Identity Disorder usually have their voices or alters take control of them for periods at a time, sometimes we're awake and aware we're out of control and sometimes we blackout and find we've done things, one extreme was someone saying they couldn't remember the better part of a decade and found they'd posted all sorts on Facebook about holidays and events they've supposedly been to.

Turtle1980

Turtle1980

I'm 40 now. I just rely heavily on faith all my life and from a Bible stand point they cast out demons. How did this happen to me all of a sudden, voices wanting to kill me thinking I'm being followed ugh. I'm sorry

NWiddi

NWiddi

Forum Safety Team