• Welcome! It’s great to see you. Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Phobia

J

johnnykikakat

Hi, im John, and I have a phobia that I cant find the real name for....closest I can see is megalophobia .
I am an amateur astronomer and am fascinated and absolutely love all things about the universe but struggle with …..vast -ness, large-ness, overwhelming monolithic feelings that go with it.
I am fine thru a telescope and watching footage/movies/reading etc
but I spent a lot of money on a high end computer set up with Virtual reality and I cant use it for what I wanted it for. Literally , I cant go exploring the universe on the VR as I just freeze and panic.
admittedly its very realistic but I know full well I am sitting in a room in a chair in the safety of my own home but I would like to know if there are any methods to overcome this?
ive been in many dangerous places in my life and done some incredible and dangerous things and this may seem petty to some but id really like to improve this fear.
I am both fascinated and frightened of the things that make me panic
Radio telescopes (if they are big) curvature of the earth from a high place,
wind turbines, underwater if its deep and open etc etc.
Any help or ideas would be massively appreciated.
Thanks

I also have another strong phobia but it doesn't really interfere with daily life and that is a sickening fear of innocent people hurting themselves ( like candid camera / accidents / kids falling over / I just keep away from the tv when you've been framed is on.

Tawny

Tawny

Forum Guide
You have reminded me of jeremy kyle, did you ever watch that. It made me feel very sorry for the guests on there, that they were so vulnerable and didn't know they were about to be humiliated.