• Welcome! It’s great to see you. Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Personality vs Dissociative disorder?

ms_P

ms_P

Founding Member
I'm not sure where to post this.

What do you do when the people diagnosing you can't decide between Borderline and Dissociative Identity Disorder?

I got Borderline plus DD/NOS. Like that really helps.

The treatment for one is discouraged for the other. Give me a break! What now?

Can anyone identify with this?

T

Twylight

I'm no expert:

but I thought dissociation, was a symptom of borderline ?

A

Apotheosis

I'm not sure where to post this.

What do you do when the people diagnosing you can't decide between Borderline and Dissociative Identity Disorder?

I got Borderline plus DD/NOS. Like that really helps.

The treatment for one is discouraged for the other. Give me a break! What now?

Can anyone identify with this?
Sorry to be slow - Is DD - Dual Diagnosis? & is NOS - Not otherwise specified?

Can't Borderline have elements of dissociation? I know DID is different.

How do you feel about the validity of these diagnoses? I don't mean that what you are experiencing isn't real - far from it - From your own understandings; what makes more sense as a diagnosis? Do you think the diagnosis are a valid & accurate way of addressing what you are experiencing; & an accurate descriptor for your 'condition'?

Sorry for all the questions.

I have had varied diagnoses. For the past 10 years 'they' - the Doc's have generally settled for 'paranoid schizophrenia' - it's a label, a word. Yes it is referring to an underlying 'condition'. But I find it far from accurate; & I don't find the label helpful. 8 years ago the label was removed & I was told it had been a miss-diagnosis - then it was reinstated a couple of years later.