• Share. Be Supported. Recover.

We are a friendly, safe community supporting each other's mental health. We are open 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

Permanently depressed just struggle o function. Anyone elseor is it just me?

T

tech181

Hi I am 53 and it seems to have taken me 53 yrs to realise that I suffer from chronic depression.
I have had some very harsh experiences in life but I had not when I first tried committing suicide at the age of 20.
I somehow struggled on never beleiving that anything would be permanent, be that jobs or relationships and there seemed to lie a self fulfilling phrophecy; because I did not think it would last well hey, guess what ...it did'nt.
I sometimes can't get out of bed even though I know deep down I should. Some days are darker than others but in general they are all fairly shite I have no other explanation than that as to how it feels and i constantly lack any energy.
I am quite musical and play guitar and keyboards and that is a release as it takes my mind to other places, but some days I can't even do that.
NHS have been fairly useless in just giving me increasing doses of both Citalopram (40mg) then when this was seeming to make me worse after 6 yrs swapped me to Certriline (15mg) 4 weeks ago and these do not seem to be working either.
I have had the local mental health intervention therapy telling me to close my eyes think of a happy place and pat my hands.
Fucking waste of time and then a year after having that suggested it again!
Sorry if I am rambling but does anyone else feel the same as me?
I am quite well educated which seems to annoy me even more because I reckon I should be able to figure a way out of this, but I give in... I can't.
So I have bored you all enough even I am bored now-but would like to know how to love the world again instead of seeing it as an insurmountable sea of problems - none of which I can fix be it global warming or tin pot regimes with thermo-nuclear weapons.