• Welcome! It’s great to see you.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

Origin

R

rabina

Let's get down to business.
How can male and female voices that are not
recognizable to the person hearing them come about
whether hearing them in their heads or with their ears.
Can this be logically or scientifically/medically explained?
There must be answers to this question.
Even if thought to be a "hallucination" the brain is recognizing it as a voice.
So, one could even argue then about it being a hallucination if being recognized by the brain.
How???
ORIGIN: Always remember origin...

R

rabina

I'm no scientist here, but here is what I have found that seems interesting; hmmm???

Sound processing is controlled by the temporal lobes (frontal lobes).

The primary auditory cortex is about the same as Brodmann areas 41 and 42. ... cerebral cortex that are involved in processing sound, in the frontal and parietal lobes. .....

The auditory nerve (also cochlear nerve) carries signals of the inner ear to the brain.

The auditory cortex is involved in tasks such as identifying and segregating auditory "objects" and identifying the location of a sound in space.

Human brain scans have indicated that a peripheral bit of this brain region is active when trying to identify pitch. Individual cells consistently get excited by sounds at specific frequencies, or multiples of that frequency.

Cortex is the outer part or portion of an organ.

Well, it's a start of some type anyway.
rabina

R

rabina

I have asked this question in several locations including neurology, (where I received no answer at all), in medicine and psychology as well as a schizophrenic community where the only word some could come up with was schizophrenia which is not an answer to the question.
You see no one can answer this question as of yet.