• Welcome! It’s great to see you.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

Opportunity to help shape a research project

E

ehealthgroup

Hi all

I am a researcher at the University of Warwick. We want to do some research into how new technologies such as the internet and mobile telephones might be harnessed to help people with mental health problems (particularly young people under 25 years old). For example this could include websites that provide information and support, or services that provide online therapy, or emails or text messages between the health service and the patient. I am sure there are lots of other examples too.

At the same time I know people have some concerns about the use of technology. For example concerns about privacy or security of personal data, or about websites that provide misleading or harmful information, or disruptive behaviour in online communities, etc.

Anyway, at this stage I would really like to hear your views on this issue to help shape a research proposal I am developing.

• What do you think are the important questions that need answering?
  • What do you think are the technologies that might be the most useful, that we should be studying?
  • What possible problems might be caused by technologies?
  • Do you have examples of where technology has been helpful or harmful?
  • Who else should we be talking to?

I hope to get the views of people with mental health problems as I believe that publicly funded research has a duty to be relevant to the issues that matter to the public.

This post has been approved by the moderator (Mischief).

Please feel free to private message me or to post in this thread.

With very many thanks for any comments.

John

L

leone101