• Welcome! It’s great to see you. Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

on the inside!!?

S

shabbia

Im new so be gentle...only kidding..
Anyway i have an interview next week for a new job in the same company and im shi**ing myself.
I really want the job and i have plenty of experience and knowledge. My issue is that "they" will expect me to talk about certain things and i know im the person for the job but feel i will have to say whats "required" not what i know to be true about mental health issues from my clients point of view...............
I feel as if i have to play the game to get where i want to be and sometimes im sick of this political posturing. I feel my true contribution is that i dont bullsh*t the people i work with but tell it straight.......
Sorry about the whinging but it really winds me up.................:mad:

HULAHOOP

HULAHOOP

the corporate image

Hi there
yes you are right, you will only get the job if you say what they want to hear,
you have to be corporate right??????
don't worry it winds me up too.

I think you should say what they want to hear to secure the post and give your best interview, that way if you get the job you can change their mind sets with evidence of other ways of doing things in time and by example.

Thats what I do, I don't compromise my beliefs and experiences re mental health but I subtly work on changing the culture from within.

Hope this makes sense, there is so much ignorance out there and political clap trap, and to some extent you have to play the game, but you can change the rules as you go along.

Dont change your core being and beliefs though, no job is worth that, because if you do, you wont be happy and you wont stay.

good luck, let me know how you get on

D

Dollit

Sometimes to change the system you have to seem to become a part of it.

S