• Welcome! It’s great to see you. Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

OCD?

S

serepein

Hi,

This is my first time here. I’ve been looking at forums online the past few days. I feel like I’ve been dealing with my thoughts alone, and even tho reading others stories make me feel less alone, they make me overthink so I wanted to get my own thoughts out there... Sorry if this is long.

So I have never been diagnosed with OCD or gone to the doctors. I just never thought to but I believe I’ve lowkey had it all my life. I remember how it started. When I was young, maybe 8, I was laying in bed trying to sleep. My mind was wandering which I think is normal when your trying to sleep especially if you’re a kid, your mind wanders. But for some reason I thought of a book that was on the table in the living room where my family was. And I had a thought ...did I straighten the book? I was like a perfectionist, always wanting things to be a certain way. So I went to the living room and checked it. Then I went back to bed. But then I felt like it wasn’t right and I thought ...is it right? is it in the right position? I know it’s weird but those were my thoughts. Then I thought ...what if I don’t make it right and something happens to my family? So I kept going back and moving the book so it was in the right position or whatever felt “right” Thats the earliest memory I have of this