• Welcome! It’s great to see you.

Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Not very optimistic on my future career

MrBond007

MrBond007

First of all, at the start of every thread I always like to mention that I have Asperger's syndrome as well as anxiety and depression (have currently been on antidepressants for the last year and a half). I currently study performing arts (drama) at college. I have been doing it for well over 2 years now, and I really do aspire to become a relatively successful actor. Most specifically a film actor within the action/drama genre, though I am more than willing to give every genre from every platform a go. I like to think I'm a relatively decent actor myself and I don't really knock my own skills in that regard. Though I absolutely abhor seeing myself, considering the fact I am very self conscious on the way I look, whether that being my body, hair, neck, face, etc. So I find it very hard to watch back video's of myself acting. And considering the fact that I'm constantly body shamed and implied to be unattractive both from my family (which they jokingly do though it still hurts me) and people at college (my friends even, but again it still hurts). And also considering the fact I put a good amount of weight on since lockdown, to the point where I have developed more of a double chin as well as, stretch marks on my waist and in between my thighs. I have been trying to get a haircut and go back to the gym and lose some of my flab, the issue is, is that they're all closed which makes everything else ultimately harder for me. I am also very short sighted to the point where I always have to wear glasses, which again has been ruining my confidence since I personally think I look a lot better without them, and how am I suppose to get a role in anything if I can't even see what I'm