• Share. Be Supported. Recover.

We are a friendly, safe community supporting each other's mental health. We are open 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

Not sure how to change??

E

e_lo95

I have never been a very sociable person but lately i feel like its getting a bit out of control. I am currently studying at university and i had hopes before i came that it would help me get out of my own bubble and make loads of friends and gain confidence etc. And i have to a certain extent, i even studied abroad for 5 months which i never would have done before, however now that i am in my final year i am feeling a little hopeless. As soon as i came back everything kind of hit me, stress, anxiety the lot and ive just been feeling really down. I find it difficult to talk and act socially even with my two closest friends, things always feel a little awkward i always used to be asked to go to things with people but i have found that now people tend not to ask or even want my opinion on many things and i feel this is my fault for not being approachable maybe? maybe they feel like i would say no anyway so there is no point? therefore i have found that i tend to avoid a lot of social situations now due to my own insecurities, usually being not sure how to talk with people properly or ask the right questions so i tend to stay silent but then i fret that other people think i am boring, unsociable and i guess i am but not intentionally i just dont know how to change that and go back to being my more sociable self. I have always been a worrier and i guess quite a serious person but i also knew how to have a laugh and enjoyed going out and doing things with people even if i did like space to myself as well but now i always prefer to spend time alone than being with other people. I worry that this wont improve before i leave uni and that this wont help me get jobs once i leave, they want confident people and at the minute i am not that at all.