Not fit enough to drive!!!!!!!!!!!!!

M

Meredithmay

The dreaded brown envelope dropped through my door 2 days ago advising me to send my driving licence to the DVLA following medical reports. I have been driving since the age of 17 yrs with no claims on insurance.

I was advised to contact DVLA following hospital admission under section 2 and after further episodes relating to Bipolar disorder.

I have not been driving my car when ill but this does not count. I contacted the agency and they told me that I need to have 6 months clear of any mental health episodes before I would be declared fit to drive.

I feel upset and annoyed that I now have to sell my car.

The mental health professionals have kept me in the dark during this time.

Mm:low:

Fuscia

Fuscia

I was unwell for 18 months with three admissions and never was told to contact the dvla. Its so unfair that you had to and that you have to be stable for six months. Thats a very long time.

M

Meredithmay

Hi Fuscia,

They advised me to contact the DVLA. I have to admit that I was nervous driving my car because if the DVLA are not notified that you have a mental health problem and you do have an accident then it is an £1000 fine and your insurance is not valid. Prior to this I was blissfully unaware driving around for years in my role as a Social Worker. I do not work now so this is fortunate. I can manage without a car but its just another loss. I know I am a safe driver but its out of my hands.

I am pleased for you that you are still able to drive.

catkin

catkin

ACCOUNT CLOSED
Am sorry, hope you can get drivig again soon.
I haven't been allowed to drive for a few years due to dissociation, I was relieved to be honest and can't afford a car anyway but hope I can drive again at some point. Hope you can too.x

Passionflower

Passionflower