• Welcome! It’s great to see you. Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Noise drives me potty!!!

M

Mikey mike

I'm new to all this so please be gentle! Having read through some of the other posts it makes me feel bad talking about my own problems, but then I persuaded myself that this is an 'introduction' and I'm hoping it might do me good to share how I feel.

I suffer from long term depression that probably goes right back to when I was being bullied at school - that left me with a severe lack of confidence and a feeling that I didn't fit in. I sort of struggled on though life until my early thirties when everything came to a head. There seemed to be all kinds of problems to deal - death of my mum, stress at work, problem neighbours - it all got too much for me - I ended up losing my house, my job and my partner. I moved away from my home town and cut myself off from the few friends I had, which was a big mistake - I had some sort of breakdown. The only person that seemed to care about me was my ex so ended up back under the same roof - that was 12 years ago! I've spent most of that time wondering whether I should be here - we're very supportive towards each other (I helped him care for his partner who died 18mths ago) but because of our past history we don't communicate as we should - that causes problems.