• Welcome! It’s great to see you.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

Nobody around me seems to Understand

C

Cjade

Hi everyone,
I’ve never tried a forum before but thought it might be worth a shot to talk to others who might understand. I’ve been struggling a little with anxiety that’s really become apparent through this year. I’m usually a really confident person and not anxious about things but every so often I get myself really worked up worrying over the littlest things and I can’t seem to calm myself down from them it just gets worse and worse. The anxiety seems to become worse on days that I have no plans and are therefore not busy doing something else.
For example one time I was supposed to be going over to my boyfriends house and having some drinks with his parents for his dads birthday but he had also invited his friend over. I know his friend and I have spent time with him before and he is a lovely lad but for some reason I had got myself so worked up about going round and feeling on the sideline that I just kept putting off going round to his house until it was the evening. I then started worrying that it was too late and his parents would think I was horrible person for not going round earlier which made me feel even more anxious. I ended up calling my boyfriend and trying to explain my feelings to him but he just doesn’t understand and thinks I’m making a ‘big deal’ out of nothing and constantly tells me to ‘stop worrying’. I know he loves me and is struggling to understand me, but the way he reacts to me trying to explain just gets me even more worked up as I’m worrying what him and everybody else must think about me making a big deal out of nothing. I really wish I could think more rationally about things but once I’ve started working myself up it’s like an endless cycle☹