• Welcome! It’s great to see you.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

No family support, no one wants to see me do well in life

• Thread starter strawberrywater
  • Start date
S

strawberrywater

If you've seen my other posts here, you know I live in a very crappy area, specifically in Pennsylvania. It's the "rust belt" and all the infrastructure is crumbling, buildings are old, people are rude and miserable, but worst of all there's a lack of decent jobs.

I have my Bachelor's in Business but I've only gotten secretary work (I'm also female). I've worked full time as a secretary for 4 years. Before that I did 2 internships in sales and marketing while in university. In between and after college I had a couple part time jobs because that's all that I could get. I'm in my late 20s and I think it's only fair that I get a job that pays decent with benefits.

My mom thinks otherwise - "You should just get any job" - but she doesn't understand that I can't keep taking low level, low pay jobs or else it will be harder to get out of it.

I want to move to another state so I've been actively applying for Executive Assistant and some writing work (I've written freelance articles and novels, not published). Right now I'm doing a pre-entry test for a Copywriter job that pays pretty normal ($40K salary with full benefits) and it's remote. So jobs like that.

My mom laughs and condescends me when I tell her I'm trying to get a job in another state, so I can have a better life. She says "Yeah right, keep dreaming" as if I'm not someone capable of doing that. Years ago I told her of an idea to go visit the places I'd like to live and she condescended me -- and I actually went. She didn't care.