P

Pixie75

ACCOUNT CLOSED
Hi, I'm very new to this as never joined a forum before. I hoping to talk to anyone who can relate to my current state of mind. So probably best I tell you what's going on with me.
10 years ago my life went a bit south (job issues, complicated relationship, loneliness....blah blah blah) and I ended up on anti depressants. 10 years later, I decided that I didn't want to be controlled by pills anymore, and as I had dealt with all my issues from the past, I felt it was time to stop the meds. (I didn't consult a GP, cos our surgery is awful). I did this over a 5 week period and had/have the support of my husband (who didn't know me before the pills) my mum and my friend at work, who I call my 'go to girl'. I have now been 'clean' for 12 days, but I'm experiencing alot of different emotions to normal situations and I don't like it. This week alone I have been super quiet, manic/hyper, angry/frustrated and tearful :( has anyone else experienced this? Is this normal withdrawals? Will it ever end? Pixie75 from the UK

midnightphoenix

midnightphoenix

Hi Pixie and welcome :welcome:

We are happy to have you here :grouphug:

It could be withdrawals, best one to talk to is the doctor see if theres anything that will help with the withdrawals :hug:

Urban Hermit

Urban Hermit

:welcome: to the forum , yes like Midnight said after 10 years it could be withdrawal symptoms , depends on maybe the type and dosage, I would suggest talking to your GP too x

Have you had an therapy to help with some of the sources of issues?

UH x

calypso

calypso

Admin
I agree, this sounds like withdrawal and it should settle down over time. I would strongly suggest you see another doctor - try to find one you like - and ask them about it. These meds are very strong and after 10 years, you are also experiencing emotional roller coaster again which is a shock to your system.