• Share. Be Supported. Recover.

We are a friendly, safe community supporting each other's mental health. We are open 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

New to Gad

C

Cuddlybear533

I am new to gad. Does anyone else have muscle tension/aches combined with the feeling of being on edge/easily startled? Thanks!

Purple Chaos

Purple Chaos

Hi Cuddlybear and welcome to the forum.

I've not experienced this but I'm aware that GAD can affect you both mentally and physically. I would imagine that the tension and aches are tied in with feeling on edge. Perhaps you are tensing your muscles more when feeling this way? It's just a thought.

Hopefully others who have experience with this issue will come along with a more helpful response.

Take care.

SomersetScorpio

SomersetScorpio

Whilst i'm not diagnosed with GAD, I can definitely relate to what you're experiencing.

Tense, achy body and hyper-vigilance.. I get startled to easily.

I find a hot water bottle can help with the aching. As for being so easily scared, I tend to wear headphones and listen to music a lot so i'm not so sensitive to loud noises (that's what sets me off more than anything, an unexpected loud noise).

T

tobermory

I get startled for most unexpected reasons .. like traveling in a Metro (what you refer to as the Tube in UK), every time a station arrives and there is a chime of 'ping' before the doors open, I jump out of my skin ... when I was working, if a co-worker as much as sneezed...same effect.

So far as tension/aches are concerned, from my personal experience, it comes because one tenses his/her body/muscles to avoid/minimize that startle response, in anticipation of it....what my doc called anticipatory anxiety.

T

tobermory

Just to add...