• Welcome! It’s great to see you. Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

new to forum and in need of advice,,

M

mark81

Hello everyone this is my first time on this forum and I need some advice,, I am 33 mail and I think I have had a nervous breakdown last year but I am not sure ?

October last year I was rushed to hospital with chest pains and breathing difficulty, I have a very stressful job and I can admit I was drinking probably too much at the weekends. I had for months been feeling low and just not right I was aware I was unhappy and angry but I just didn’t know why? I was so down and just felt like I had nothing going for me in life but in reality I had a great life and family. But I kept drinking to deal with the thoughts and feelings and the stress.

I spent 4 months scared , ashamed for nothing , guilty about nothing and so nervous I couldn’t sleep eat or go out I was in a mess. I thought I was going mad I had suicidal thoughts and all I could think have been I had gone crazy it was the worst time in my life.

I have always been in stressful environments and in life I am a very highly strung person I also have some compulsive issues in regards to mess and organizing of things this drives my wife mad but she sees it as part of who I am.

I thought I was an alcoholic because I was drinking 3 times a week to calm me down and basically help me switch off after work but I went to AA meetings and found it hard to relate to the behaviour and actions of an alcoholic but none the less if you drink to escape you have a bad relationship with alcohol then it is something you have to deal with and I have I haven’t drank since October last year and I feel better but have had the odd weird feelings from time to time