• Welcome! It’s great to see you. Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

New to all this.......... (bloody long post, sorry)

P

PurpleNewy

Hi sorry for bothering you all, but I'm new to all this forum thing and I need help/advise.
I was diagnosed with Borderline Personality Disorder and BiPolar last year. This came after 8 years of being on and off anti depressants and seeing counsellors. A lot of stuff has made sense since I was diagnosed but I am really struggling to come to terms with these 'labels' as I see them.
I was diagnosed after a 10 minute appointment with a psychiatrist and was offered Depakote whilst I was taking Prozac at the same time. I was in complete denial and came off Prozac and have not taken any medication since. I started seeing a psychologist a few months ago and she says I'm making progress and she's all for going slowly.
I have talked about a lot of my demons and and more recently a problem I have with food. I have been diagnosed with Binge Eating Disorder and I'm seeing a dietician for the mental health community.
The problem is I feel like I am coping less and less. I hold down a full time job and I'm married. My husband and my family really don't understand what is going on in my head and everything irritates me, leading to arguments etc. 5 weeks ago my GP signed me off work for 4 weeks with work related stress. I am coming to the end of this time and need to back to the GP, but I'm so scared that I can't go back. I don't feel like I can work anymore.
My husband and I have discussed I go part time (3 days a week) but I know we wouldn't cope financially with this, but I also know I would feel so much better mentally. I feel like I need life to slow down so I can get myself in order.