• Welcome! It’s great to see you. Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

New Relationship... self harm also an issue..

Paris

Paris

Hi I'm new to this.. and I just joined after doing a google self harm forum search and came up with this site.

Anyway Im not too sure if I should have posted in this section or the self harm one but my issue is mainly to do with a relationship.. here goes.. (please feel free to go and make a coffe/hot chocolate before reading on) lol

Im 23 years old.. I have been talking to this old school friend whos also 23 we went to the same primary school etc but never really talked at school and all of a sudden he added me on myspace and any way we have started talking and going out for drinks etc and its gotten to a stage where I really fancy him and vice versa.. and he would like to start going out with me.. the only thing is I was a self harmer and I have really horriable nasty scars on my arms mainly that I know he would probably think i'm a wierdo/freak for...

I keep telling him we should just stay friends even though I would love to be with him..

I feel embarrased I used to self harm and always cover up.. I have only ever had one bf who Ive broken up with and he was fine about my scars - I used 2 self harm whilst with him.

What do I do? :confused:

Tell him i was a self harmer...
Make up some story about my cat attaking me :unsure:

Thanks guys

x

Sugar Coated Owl

Sugar Coated Owl

I say go for it! :)

Would it be possible to cover up your scars? Have you tried foundation/concealer? There is a product called Dermablend that you can buy or your Doctor can prescribe it. It is a camaflage make up and is supposed to cover up scars so that they are hardly noticeable.

I tend to wear a tubi-grip to work wear long sleeved tops outside of work.