• Share. Be Supported. Recover.

We are a friendly, safe community supporting each other's mental health. We are open 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

Need help with benefits (Personality Disorder NOS)

S

sebastian

Hi guys and girls.

I was recently diagnosed as having Personality Disorder NOS (not otherwise specified) which doesn't really give me a solid diagnosis.

I have been claiming Universal Credit for the past 6 months and for those past months have been providing sick notes while psychiatrist and GP gets to the bottom of whats wrong.

I soon have my medical coming up and feel that they will not take me seriously with this diagnosis.

Does this mean I have a personality disorder or not?.. I was told I have certain traits but thats not really much to go on.

I am also taking Quetiapine for it.

Does anyone have any suggestions how I go about my medical and that? What should I tell them exactly is wrong do I just say Personality Disorder NOS or what?

Thanks people :) appreciate it alot

Nikita

Nikita

ACCOUNT CLOSED
Give them your diagnosis by all means but to qualify for benefit you need to let them know how your illness affects you on a daily basis,how does it prevent you functioning and taking care of your personal needs..you need to get across in the medical how hard it is for you either cos of mood swings or heavy emotions or an inability to move etc I don't know much about personality disorders and how they affect you so am trying to advise you best I can.

Similar threads
Thread starter Title Forum Replies Date
P Need help with first time ESA assessment / ESA 50 / Severe mental health issues Work, Money, Benefits, Housing and Education 13
midnightphoenix I need a bit of help Work, Money, Benefits, Housing and Education 32
B need help. having family problem what should i do....? Work, Money, Benefits, Housing and Education 1
G Going to EAS Tribunal tomorrow need last minute help!! Work, Money, Benefits, Housing and Education 6