• Welcome! It’s great to see you.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

Need help... want to break up for no reason

Status
Not open for further replies.
S

shinehah

Ok so I have no one I can talk to about this and I really am upset. I'm a college student, 20, and about 6 months ago I met this wonderful girl during an archaeological field school sponsored by my college over seas. We hung out a lot, and a month ago we started dating and she is everything I have ever wanted, we've got the same interests, I find her really pretty, and we have a lot to talk about. Never a dull moment. However, this past week or so I've started to have these feelings that I've had before. Not voices, I know I'm NOT SCHIZOPHRENIC, so that's not the problem. But I've had these feelings before. Essentially, I just feel compelled to give up on her. I just feel like it's hopeless, and I just should stop seeing her. However, I know it's not. I've had these feelings before. Last year, I joined the LDS church, even though my parents didn't like the church, but it wasn't long before I began feeling like I should stop going to church, and just give up on life. Not suicide, but just give up. Not care about the friends I'd made there, or if God was real, or focus on my life. I just retreated into my shell because I lived alone then. I'm having the exact same compulsions about this girl, and I'm afraid to talk to her about them. I can't talk to my parents, of course, and I don't really have any friends who wouldn't think I'm insane. Of course, I was on anti-depressants (Zoloft) for the past two years, and quit this summer. So I don't know what to do. Please, if you have recommendations I'd really appreciate it. This is the kind of girl I can see myself being with for the rest of my life, and I don't want to ruin our relationship and mis