• Welcome! It’s great to see you.

Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

For more features and forums

need advice

A

angiebabes

ive been offered a job on a temperary basis, working with people with mental health problems, who live within the community, these people have challenging behaviour

this is my first time working with this client group and i am nervious as i dont know what to expect, or how to deal with it,

the employers have been really good with me, and thats how they have offered me temp work, starting me off with just a couple of shifts, as a trial period, so i know whether the job is right for me, plus whether i am right for them without it effecting any benefits i may get from the government, and if everything is ok, they are willing to offer me more shifts on a temp basis, will they will support me will i attend college to get my hnc,, and may offer me permenant position if one arises

can someone please tell me, what kind of behaviour i would expect, and how would deal with it please, so i know roughly what to expect b4 i start.

D

Dollit

The behaviour would depend on diagnosis, severity of the condition, whether there is medication involved. The people to whom you should be asking this question are the people who have offered you the job. I don't really know quite what to feel about this question to be honest.

intelgal

intelgal

Founding Member