• Welcome! It’s great to see you.

Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

For more features and forums

Name Calling!!!!

Libra1

Libra1

Founding Member
Hi to everyone, have been lurking for a couple of months and now need to ask for a little advice - not sure if I am in the right forum(move if necessary)

I have been being treated with antidepressants for 18 months. My depression is secondary to physical illnesses. I was working until last summer, and looking after 3 teenagers alone, as my husband was away, but now permanently back with us all.

My depression is also blamed on my hypothyroidism - have been taking Thyroxine for 20 years (but I haven't been depressed for 20 years I think)

I am married to a good man, usually good natured/generous etc, but boy can he sulk. Not only that, but if he is 'mad' with me and it doesn't take much, he won't speak to me for about 3 or more days. For the last few weeks if we have a difference of opinion - not a row, he starts shouting at me and calling me names which is really really upsetting me. Last night it was I was C*ap, I am EV*L, and the latest worse name is I am M*N*AL.

He is an educated man always had a well paid job, and retired early because he wanted too, I did not ask him too because I was unwell at the time.
He does not have a lot of time on his hands, as he is always in the garden, shopping, going to the gym etc. etc. We have been together for a long time, I am wondering if he is going thro' the male menopause????

I have spoken to him lots of times and said how it really upsets me when he stops speaking to me, no response :( Today I have stayed out of his way and done some sewing. Wednesday I am out most of the day, as I meet up at the leisure centre with others.

Any help advice would be welcome :)

Ashami

Ashami

Founding Member
Hello Libra1