• Welcome! It’s great to see you. Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

My job/workplace is slowly sucking the life out of me!

B

BurningPassion

Hi,

I graduated from Uni in 2007 and was lucky enough to land a job in an IT department. The technology I I have to work with everyday was kinda what I was reading at uni. So basically, I'm a graduate with a decent job on decent money for my level.

At first, it all seemed rosy, I remember how happy I was when my interviewer called me up with an offer. I'm talking proper happiness, the type that makes you cry with emotion on the spot. So i got the job towards the end of 2007. I'm still there now. But my mindset it very different now......

Those who work in IT or rather any professional field of work, you will understand the existence of qualifications within the field, for example, an accountant takes an exam to become a charted accountant. the same thing exists in IT, people obtain certifications using specific technology, for example Microsoft certify engineers who know how to operate their servers. This is based on examinations.

Now i've been working on such a certification since I started the job, I managed to pass the first exam today. But it was hard, not the fact that it was hard to study, but life circumstances were weighing me down. My Grandmother passed away last year who I was close to, and one of my parents become a drug addict. That was also a big thing because I was also really close to that parent. Also, my self esteem has really taken a battering, I just can't connect with people any more, i've kinda become lost in my own head/world.

Basically there was too much chatter in my mind for me to concentrate on passing this exam, it took more than 1 attempt, today was the lucky one :)