My Fiance's illness destroyed our relationship

L

Ludoman

Hi I'm new to this, but I wanted to share my story as I'm struggling with the end result now myself.
I met a Spanish girl and we hit it off immediately, a worldwind romance, booked a holiday together on our first date, very quickly moved in together. We both had very good jobs and had an apartment in Smithfield.

Early on she hesitantly told me that she had previously dealt with depression and anxiety and took medication for it. She suffered with a chemical imbalance carried down by her mother. I had never dealt with or experienced anything like this before but I immediately told her that it wouldn't be a problem for us and I'd support her no matter what. So after 1 year together with zero issues, on New Years 2018 I decided to propose, which I did and she said yes. We're both mid-thirties so while it was quick, we were both in a position where we knew what we wanted.

Shortly after this due to her feeling very happy and well she contacted her doctors in Spain and they decided to slowly reduce her medication. After one week of gradually reducing her medication the problems began to start. So upon noticing this she gradually returned back to her normal dosage.

Unfortunately, this didn't help and despite my attempts to help she fell deeper and deeper into a hole. She went sick from work and would spend most days crying. It was very difficult for me to leave her to go to work. I would come home to her crying. I would have to leave early and run home when I couldn't contact her due to her expressing her desire to end her life. Eventually her father came over from Spain, stayed for a week and then took back to Spain with him.