• Welcome! It’s great to see you. Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

My feelings. (To those who will listen)

W

wvd1979

I wanted to share my story to anyone who will listen. Lately I have been feeling hopeless and depressed and my wife doesn't seem to understand why I feel this way. Basically you could say that I'm going through a life crisis.

I am a 29 year old male. And my upcoming 30th birthday has made me realize that my life is is not where I want it to be. I have a decent salary, however my wife does not make much money. We can cover our bills fine, but trying to save money to buy a house is a real struggle for us. We tried to talk to some banks, but they all say we don't have enough money saved up.

I work in the security field, and I have tried to get promotions at work, but I keep getting passed over for retired cops with 30 years of experience. Even though I always went the extra mile at work and volunteered for extra projects all the time. I feel like a worthless piece of crap on the job because my best is never good enough to move up. Even though I have a college degree and 10 years of field experience. I originally wanted to work in law enforcement, but I have a hearing impairment that prevents me from doing that. (Hearing problem in one ear. The other one is good.) Basically I feel like I have no hopes, no dreams, or no goals that will come true. I have no mentors, or people who are interested in helping me advance in my career.