My experience in the mental health system

H

HappeningNow

I'm here to discuss my experiences in mental hospitals and such and hopefully get some feedback from it. Anyways, the first time I went to the mental hospital was when I was 17-18yrs old after temporarily dropping out of high school and it was a scary and downhill moment for me. I had got sent there for binging on my parent's alcohol and was acting really drunk. Without me knowing, my parents had come home and I was still drunk and acting crazy, but before I knew it they were in my room and I just couldn't control myself. They had decided to send me to the emergency room for some reason and then from there a day later they transferred me to a place called Kingwood Pines in Kingwood, Texas.

Now I had been drinking like this on and off since I was 13 yrs old, but the difference was that they thought I had been doing this too much so now they decided to do something about it. At the hospital I was in AA and also diagnosed with depression. I was there for about 2 weeks I think and was in the minimum security section of the hospital. I met some nice kids/adults who really didn't seem mentally ill or anything like it in the process and they had really interesting personalities and were also real intelligent.