• Welcome! It’s great to see you.

Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

For more features and forums

My career and why I may need to pack it in.

LORD BURT

LORD BURT

I am a software engineer. Sadly I feel I have never reached my true potential.

Unfortunately due to the demands of the job I do not see how I can continue this career.

The meds make mornings very difficult due to drowsiness.

I come home and am greeted by the voices.

I feel I am discriminated against in terms of finding new jobs due to the severity of the diagnosis and the career gap on my CV.

I have a plan for my future, but perhaps sadly I will have to quit computing.

Mayflower7

Mayflower7

Sorry to hear Burt, good luck for your future.

B

bpd2020

I think you are really brave to have gone back to work. I really admire that. It is hard to hold down a job with the side effects of medication. I am sorry you have to quite computing but I hope you can find something else you enjoy.

LORD BURT

LORD BURT

I think you are really brave to have gone back to work. I really admire that. It is hard to hold down a job with the side effects of medication. I am sorry you have to quite computing but I hope you can find something else you enjoy.
Thank you. I feel I made a good comeback - i proved I could do it. I wish to do something more meaningful now, perhaps a job in social care.

Also I wish to keep doing my creative projects such as hiking, cycling video and photography and podcast.

B

bpd2020

It is lovely you have different interests and can enjoy them. You wanting to do a meaningful job is so caring. I think you would make a wonderful social worker as you are very understanding.

LORD BURT

LORD BURT

It is lovely you have different interests and can enjoy them. You wanting to do a meaningful job is so caring. I think you would make a wonderful social worker as you are very understanding.