My best friend and boyfriend betrayed me...and now I'm all alone.

elliepaige20

elliepaige20

Hi Everyone, this is my first time using a forum so I'm hoping I can get some advice for coping with loneliness?

For almost two years, I've had a boyfriend who for the purpose of this forum we will call James. Since meeting him at the end of 2016, things were absolutely perfect; he was always so romantic, we always talked about our future and we really enjoyed each other's company. I was 18, and he was 19. I had a fairly small group of friends, who have unfortunately abandoned me over the years due to a series of events. The first two friends, who we'll call Elise & Emma, started to hate me when I started dating James, out of pure jealousy. They didn't want to know us anymore and so cut us off from their lives, bearing in mind that they had never expressed any interest in James previously.

After that, I only had two friends left, who we'll call Dawn & Juliet. They were my best friends in the whole world and seemed fully supportive of me and James for the first eighteen months or so. Around November 2017, Juliet in particular started to express severe jealousy; telling us not to post so many pictures of ourselves online, saying that we were "oversharing" or "overadvertising". Dawn never expressed these same feelings and would usually stay out of it.