• Welcome! It’s great to see you. Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Modified Care Programme Approach

W

Wonky

This topic may already have been discussed on the forum, so apologies if that is the case. Also I'm no expert on it!

At the end of last year modifications were introduced to the Care Programme Approach. CPA has been around for quite some time and has been modified before. Until the end of last year there were two levels of CPA - Enhanced and Standard. Everybody under the care of secondary mental health services - on wards and in the community - was on one or the other, although lots of people were never told what CPA they were on or had the Care Programme Approach explained to them.

At the end of last year Enhanced and Standard were abolished. Now there is only one CPA, which is basically equivalent to the old Enhanced. Everyone else is "non-CPA", and that seems to mean that MH Trusts have a lot of discretion about whether they are going to bother to treat you (as opposed to just sending you back to your GP, whatever), what they are obligated to do, etc.

As far as I can see this indicates that MH Trusts have moved significantly towards just caring for those deemed severe and acute. If you are not deemed severe, or if you are no longer acute, it's probably even more of a lottery as to what help you will be offered.