• Welcome! It’s great to see you.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

Miraculous recovery in severe depression following COVID vaccine.

C

Crown

Hi, this is my first time posting on this forum - my mums been suffering from severe psychotic depression for a year now - and currently under treatment with combined antidepressant and anti psychotic. 12 hours after receiving her COVID vac she’s made what I can only describe as a seemingly miraculous recovery (displayed normal behaviour that I’ve not seen over a year)- sadly it lasted only about 10 hours before her agitation returned but I felt compelled to post this as I’m trying to understand if there is any link between the COVID vac and the improvements- I’ve read some papers that refer to the neurological elements of the vac and felt this may possibly have had an impact when combined with the depression medication. Just searching for answers and hoped others may have similar experience they can share?

thank you

J

JeanPierre

I'm just hearing good results of people who have taken the vaccine.
Both Moderna & Pfizer.
It's interesting what you are reporting!
Welcome here.

A

Alexander Ypsilantis

I don't know if the vaccine itself had any medicinal effect, or if it was simply the relief from getting vaccinated which had the profound positive effect on your mother. But, it was good news at any rate. I hope she does better long term.