• Welcome! It’s great to see you.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

Melancholy

O

OptimusFine

I was talking to an old friend one night chatting about random things from music to science to conspiracy theories. We asked each other to describe the other person in one word. My word was melancholy.
move never really thought of myself as a sad person until I graduated and realized that really life has no meaning. We are born one day, constantly trying to move up from level to level constantly trying to achieve what? A shitty marriage? Kids? A 9-5 job that we will end up getting stuck in for years until we’re too old and dead to do anything else. Why? Why do we have to force our way through life being unhappy? Why do I have to struggle to survive, to do anything. To sleep, eat, drink, live. What is the point?
They say drunk words are sober thoughts. I remember the first time I got REALLY fucked up and all I could think of talk about was how fucking sad everything was and how angry it made me. How unfair it is. I get it, you have to be strong and EVENTUALLY it will get better, right? Right? But what if it doesn’t. What if it’s just what I said, meaningless. A constant state of melancholy.
I don’t see the point in being so unhappy anymore. Nothing helps. Ive tried relationships, sex, drugs, alcohol, hobbies. Reading, writing, drawing, running, music. Nothing makes me happy, nothing satisfies this melancholic void that sits and grows in my chest and mind.