Medication...

GlitterAndTwisted

GlitterAndTwisted

So I’m a bit new to all this and somewhat nervous about it all haha. But how many people are medicated for their BPD, how long did it take you to find the right medication for you and what is that you take please?

I feel the older I’m getting, the more likely it is that I can’t be medicated and this illness can’t be managed with medication and I’m not quite sure what else to do really. In my thirties now and been a sufferer since childhood so surely I’d have found something by now?! Thanks in advance!

Luci

Luci

I have been on meds for 12 years. Over that time I've been on Fluoxetine, mirtazapine, citlalopram and venlafaxine. I'm currently tapering off. I think different medications work differently depending on the person and their symptoms.

GlitterAndTwisted

GlitterAndTwisted

I have been on meds for 12 years. Over that time I've been on Fluoxetine, mirtazapine, citlalopram and venlafaxine. I'm currently tapering off. I think different medications work differently depending on the person and their symptoms.
I’ve been on and off so many different types of medication since I was a kid, just can’t seem to find something that suits. But then I also wonder if I’m just waiting for a ‘fix me’ pill despite knowing there’s no such thing for this type of disorder.

I also get obsessed with weight gain issues from medication and don’t like taking anything with a ‘weight gain’ side effect, which most carry! Even after working in pharmacy and discussing these issues with pharmacists, I just can’t get passed it. Feel like I’m at my wits end and as though I’m getting crazier and crazier as time goes on. Maybe it’s just a bad episode 😩😞

Thanks for your input though, I appreciate it!

Luci

Luci