• Share. Be Supported. Recover.

We are a friendly, safe community supporting each other's mental health. We are open 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

Major/Chronic Depression is Hard to Deal With

PureLeaf

PureLeaf

I've been depressed for almost 10 years. It's hard to see the light at the end of the tunnel when it's been persistent.

I graduated college and I'm a successful journeyman in my field. I have my own place etc. But yet I can't shake depression. One day, I believe I will but let me tell you some days are just tough. I have a hard time trusting anyone. I don't have friends these days and keep coworkers at arm's length. I have one family member in the state who has their own things going on. My life is loneliness on a level most people couldn't fathom.

Can anyone else relate?

Hardknocks88

Hardknocks88

Yes i can relate. I would say try to open up to people more at work. For me since i have trust issues since i have been cat fished online and screwed over by some people i have met in person, I make a 6 month to a year trust period to see if a person is worth it in my life. Its kind of like work probation when you first get a job but for a friend. Do they keep not contacting you and date or hangout night never happens? (one of the most important parts about a friend). Are they trust worthy? Do they have class? Are they good to people? do they have manners towards the opposite sex? are they narcissistic or a jack ass? To they make you feel happy ,loved ,great and inspired? Are they a wolf in sheeps clothing that talks behind your back? Are they selfless and willing to go out of their way to help you? Just things to consider, i wish you the best of luck!!! Good people never deserve to be lonely and feel unloved!!! Digital hug!!!

Oliver2019

Oliver2019

I've been depressed for almost 10 years. It's hard to see the light at the end of the tunnel when it's been persistent.