• Welcome! It’s great to see you.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

Lost my job and spiralling into depression

Star_light

Star_light

So I suffer with anxiety and depression anyway but due to recent events I feel like I’m completely drowning.

I worked as a housekeeper for a couple for a year. I basically ran their lives, travel arrangements, shopping, took care of their kids, nursed the wife after an operation. Anyway, they said due to the current pandemic I’m a luxury that they just can’t afford anymore and made me redundant two days ago. I had absolutely no warning that this was happening. The husband came and told me at 12 o clock and by 12:10 I was on my way home. The wife hasn’t spoken to me at all, not a goodbye, a text or email. Nothing. This has hit me so hard. I feel so lost and betrayed by how they handled it. I know everything is tough for everyone at the moment but they made me do a days work and then I was told ‘ok bye.’ I feel so hurt and I cannot seem to get over it. I am so deeply depressed and can not get out of this black hole. I’m hurting badly.

Antimatter

Antimatter

Blimey, that is awful. How heartless.

JessisMe

JessisMe

Yeah. I mean i know I’m not the only one to have lost my job recently but it’s just the way it was done. It felt almost cruel
It felt cruel because you were a good caregiver and emotionally invested in your work and the situation. You were proud of the work you did that they clearly took for granted. In my years work as a caregiver the same was very common. It’s very sad to realize that in the end you just weren’t appreciated as much as you deserved to be. It was arrogant and cruel how they let you go like that. You are better off without employers like that raining down on your life. :hug:

K

karl7