• Welcome! It’s great to see you. Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Looks like I'm going to lose my job

S

Suziblue

Just back from a meeting with my boss' boss and personnel ad I've been told that since they don't believe I could cope with the duties of a staff nurse in the near future I have to go to a hearing which will decide if I should be deployed to an admin post 3 pay scales below my current one or have my contract terminated. I can't help but feel devastated, I'm a nurse and I worked hard to be one! They were very nice about it saying maybe a year or so down the line I could apply. For an mother nursing post. But really who's going to employ a nurse with bipolar and a history of total melt downs? Is it time for something different?

SarahD

SarahD

Hi Suziblue, that is very tough. Is there any chance that a change in treatment may make you more stable? It seems so unfair.

What would you do, take the admin post while you think about what would be best for the future? Is there a union to give you any advice? Are they allowed,to just terminate your contract?

Hope whatever happens things work out better in the long run. X

E

Elle-X

Hey Suziblue, what a shame that you have worked so hard to get to where you are and it may all be taken away from you. As far as I'm aware, they would have to have a very good reason to terminate your contract altogether so it's likely that the admin post will be the next step.

S

Suziblue