Looking for some virtual encouragement.

D

doglovinglou

Hi.

I've recently started CBT to help me gain independence and to become less reliant on my mum for help.

However, I have a HUGE challenge this week and might sound silly to some, but it's putting petrol in my car! Something I've never done before! Of course, this is my top most anxious and scary thing on my scale of "feared and avoided" situations. Not quite sure why my therapist has gone from one end of the scale to this level, but I know it's a key to unlocking a great deal of independence.

I guess I'm just looking for some virtual encouragement really. I don't know anyone outside my family who can really build me up, and I fear that come Saturday ( when I plan to try this ) I'd have crashed from my positive high today, to not being able to do it at all. I do realise my thinking is irrational and that it's an everyday common thing that everyone does, but my fear is messing things up, becoming embarrassed, being pressurised by people waiting behind, being watched AND having to pay inside the garage! To top things off my mum today is like you have to control the nozzle thingy to not make the numbers go to fast etc and I'm just feeling confused. Is it easy to do? :redface:

Fairy Lucretia

Fairy Lucretia

Forum Guide
hi
im reliant upon my mum for almost everything
xx
so done be embarrassed I will try give you some virtual support
xx
its hard to try be independent when relying on people for a long time and when lots of things in life feel a struggle
xx
good luck with getting the petrol alone

pepecat

pepecat

It's ok...., if you try and put petrol in too fast these days, the nozzle automatically cuts out for safety reasons. So you just have to find the point where it goes at an ok speed, but not too fast. Really, it's ok.