• Welcome! It’s great to see you.

Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Living a double life, being depressed and having to fake not

M

ManDss

Does any live like this ?

Being just depress at home, and then having an unexpected visit or crossing with someone on the street, and having to switch of mood (fake) to look normal.

None of my family knows how devastated Iam, and the amount of problems I have in my mind (I dont care either, its not that I want their support). Thats why I said its like to "live a double life".

jajingna

jajingna

I recall you posting about this before, and I replied about how I think we are all actors at times. To me this is obviously seen in the roles people must assume to do their jobs. I was a teacher for years, seemed like I did plenty of acting. Doing that while depressed is really tough. I did it frequently hungover also as a heavy drinker. Not much fun when shaking on the job, looking forward to day's end to drink more to alleviate it.

You or I might be surprised how many others feel this same awareness of needing to put on the smiley face when the inner state is frowning. Society demands this in pretty much all jobs, and people of course enjoy pleasant and positive interactions. You can be sure with how common mental illness is, and the massive amount of problems people have, that many others are putting on an act a lot of the time, playing a role that can be exhausting.

S

siliconom

Hidi.g depression puts tremendous pressure on you

Actually faking it by playing the role of a healthy person can help but you need to tell those close to you. If they dont understand then you need to educate them.

I wrote an ezsay for a literary competition. Its an easy to understand guide to mental health problems but in English. Let me know if you want a copy

M

Megan5