• Welcome! It’s great to see you. Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

let down by nhs and don't know where to turn

M

markems12

Good evening all, this is my first time on a forum so I apologise if this is posted in the wrong area. So basically I'm a 34 year old male and for as long as I can remember iv been extremely unhappy, iv never been to a doctors before but its severe. I suffer with depression, severe social anxiety, suicidal thoughts. I have spent my life without friends and avoiding social events. although iv had partners its always failed because of the way I behave. Iv always self harmed and kept it very secret but in April this year I overdosed after consuming a large amount of alcohol and injured myself several times pretty severely and then I passed out, waking up with an ambulance crew around me, I got took to the hospital around 9pm and they attended to my wounds sat me down with a mental health consultant who said he was referring me to my gp for urgent help. well its now October and not heard a thing, I moved back in with my parents and haven't been out of the house apart from to work. nothing seems to be getting better and I just feel extremely let down by the NHS, I know they must be very overwhelmed but there isn't a minute of the day goes by where I don't think suicidal thoughts and its getting too much for me now.the problem is I do not have a single friend or anyone to talk to so I can take my mind off things its just me and my thoughts all the time. I don't know what steps to take next because I just feel like giving up as I'm wasting my time carrying on living for no reason.

M

Marchhare

Founding Member