• Welcome! It’s great to see you. Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Learning Difficulties (Could It be Anxiety or Depression)

M

MidnightMusician

Hi All!

I just wondered if anyone here could help me with this problem. I am currently studying and finding that for some reason, I don't take in all that I'm being taught, even though I'm listening to the tutor and wanting to. It's making me stupid. Everybody else is fine and it's like (where've you been? what were you doing whewn he or she was explaining it?).

Even if I try and focus more than usual i still don't always take it what they're saying.
And I can't write things down as they talk too fast for me to write and also feel stupid asking the teacher to talk slower so I can write everything in down in class, when other don't need to.

I'm certain I have part of my brain that doesn't function properly, what else could be the reason? I'm fairly certain (about 99%) that I don't have dyslexia or dyscalcula or whatever it's called, the maths one.

So what is it? why does this happen. I do suffer with anxiety and depression as well by the way. I think it's a brain problem too cause I did drugs for a number of years and think I may have done something lol!

Anyway, any ideas from anyone would be greatly appreciated.

Purple Chaos

Purple Chaos

Do you think it's your anxiety and depression causing your inability to concentrate?

My nephew had similar problems in class and he used a dictaphone to record what the tutor was saying in class so that he could listen to it again in his own time. Could this be an option for you? Have you told your tutor that you're having problems? You don't have to ask them to talk slower but if you discuss your issues, they might well have some advice of their own. It would be a good idea for them to know anyway.

M