Lack of motivation affecting my education

G

grigor1860

Hi,

I’m a uni student and I’ve been depressed for about 2 1/2 years, but recently it has been getting worse and worse. My sleeping pattern is all messed up, and I usually sleep for 4-6 hours before waking up, and then spending a maximum of 2 hours trying to get back to sleep. Often this is to no avail and I just stay awake. Because of this constant exhaustion, I have been skipping my seminars (compulsory lecture-style group talks) and received two informal warnings from the university, and one formal warning today. I do all the work in my own time, but more often that not I do not feel like going, and don’t go to lectures (which are optional), preferring to study at home instead. My grades are okay, at around 52% for most modules (although I failed one and got 65% - an middle second - in another) but I do feel like my poor sleep pattern and lack of motivation stemming from depression is holding me back. Also now that I’ve got a formal warning, if I get a second warning I could potentially be expelled.

Does anyone have any advice, or similar experiences? I can’t say I feel unhappy per se, but it’s just a general feeling of lethargy. Usually in the evenings I’m overcome with this feeling of sadness and I drink a fair amount to make me feel better. I’m also fairly lonely as I don’t have any friends here, but I am in touch with a few of my friends from school.

I’d appreciate any input :)

Grig

S

steve1953

ACCOUNT CLOSED
Hi Grigor,