• Welcome! It’s great to see you.

Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

We are an actively moderated forum. We work hard to keep the forum safe.

To access many more features and forums please register now

Kleptomaniac? ...Please Help

J

Joanna

Founding Member
Hi everyone!! I am a college student and I am really really concerned about my roommate. She's always been a "mooch" depending on others for things like clothes, toiletries, shoes, jackets, etc. However, this year I have seen this behavior magnified tenfold. She has lately been stealing food from places like gas stations and has constantly owed me money for things. The biggest issue nevertheless has been stealing both mine and my other roommate's underware: wearing them, getting her period in them sometimes, and hiding them in various strange places such as her desk drawer, pillow case, closet, etc. I have told her not to wear my clothes, especially a certain pair of pants that she continually wears despite my anger. After I lecture her she promises to change, yet she continues to do it. After finding this underware in addition to everything else I'm at the end of my wits and am really concerned. Could she be a kleptomaniac?

Some background of her personality....
she is a pretty girl but has always been extremely self conscious because she never had a boyfriend until this college year. She has made negative comments to me about her weight, hair, chest, and confidence. She has stated to me before that she has some OCD tendencies and I also have reason to believe that she throws up her food sometimes. She comes from a good family, which is why I am so confused with her behavior. Also, it is puzzling that she would risk our friendship for these thefts since we are best friends....help!

D

Dollit