• Welcome! It’s great to see you.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

It seems we cant have certain types of jobs...

EdEd

EdEd

According to the internet I cant serve my country in the military , become law enforcement , which are the two things that I've always wanted to do. As far as the States are concerned. This bites.

EdEd

EdEd

I was all like : "Time to pursue my career choices! " the internet: "Nope."

EdEd

EdEd

Hopefully I am wrong , and I am allowed to do one of these things.

R

ramboghettouk

Founding Member
the only jobs schitzos do are low paid jobs though there may be exceptions, i asked my gp he says he knows a patient who works as a lawyer, i said i've heard about him thats really dredging the barrel, i think a lawyers wages you can work part time and live on the money, you can also potentially afford a private place and avoid working and living in social housing

last i heard the community law centre were he works has lost it's grant due to cuts, it's the only free legal place in the borough and they've tightened up on legal aid

C

Cocoa

Hi

I have schizophrenia and I work full time - I'm a manager at a charity. I'm lucky, my work is very supportive and it's hard at times but it's not true in my opinion that the only jobs we can do are low paid ones....

Cocoa

R

ramboghettouk

Founding Member
manager of a charity we can't all work in charities, and a lof jobs they're not supportive, i've heard said near me we're not a charity

and i never said the only jobs we can do are low paid ones i said in general schitzos are in low paid jobs, that there are exceptions

C

Cocoa

Sorry didn't mean to upset anyone - I know I'm very lucky! The charity I work for is an ecological one, but yes, I am lucky

R

ramboghettouk

Founding Member