• Share. Be Supported. Recover.

We are a friendly, safe community supporting each other's mental health. We are open 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

Is this schizophrenia ?

P

Peter10

Hello All

My friend suffers from auditory persecutory hallucinations but no negative symptoms at all. This went on for 18 months and then 4 months with no hallucinations. Recently he has had some more of the same hallucinations. They are both second and third person distant auditory hallucinations. His "delusion" is only that he believes his hallucinations are real and therefore that someone is harrasing him.

Does this meet the DSM requirements for a diagnosis of Schizophrenia ? It would be great if a professional in this area could give me some guidance :)

L

Lab rat

You can google the official line easily enough. I’m not a doctor and don’t pretend to be.

from what you told us, it’s definitely psychosis. But they have lots of different names for it.

it’s like saying, psychosis is like saying somethings blue. Of course it could be sky blue or navy blue, but it’s still blue. Don’t get hung up on a label: schizophrenia, schizoaffective, bipolar, psychotic depression and about 600 others. Worry about the symptoms, not a name on a letter

JessisMe

JessisMe

Hi Peter there aren’t really professionals on this site, just peers. There are folks here who hear voices and experience persecutory hallucinations and they might be able to help you with testimony as to their diagnosis and treatment. Hopefully some will be by soon. It does appear that your friends symptoms match the criteria for schizophrenia laid out by the DSM but I can’t really provide a diagnosis since I’m not a professional. I would try to get your friend to see a good psychiatrist. They should be able to help him
more from their end:

P

Peter10