• Welcome! It’s great to see you. Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Is this obsession a symptom of my depression?

L

lizzie g

Hi there,

I'm new to this so please be kind:)

I've been single for 14 months now & currently going through a low point with my depression, have been for a few weeks (stupidly I stopped taking my meds, but back on them as from today)

The reason I'm writing this is because I've developed this really unhealthy obsession with a guy that comes into the club i work at. We met up a few times but it's obvious that he doesn't see me as anything more then a friend & I really don't want to force things like I have done in the past (Yes this sort of behavior has happened many times before)

I can't stop thinking about him, spend hours looking through his profile on facebook (& his unused myspace profile!!!). Everytime I see him I become happy & excited. I dream of us being together but it's not going to happen.
He never returns my texts or messages, & to be honest when I do see him he never really pays much attention to me anyway. He drinks too much & is unrealiable but I can't stop thinking about him. It's really getting me down & not helping my depression at all.

It's driving me to dispair. The other week he didn't turn up on a night out & I got so down about it I ended up cutting myself for the first time in months.

Why am I letting him get to me like this. It's unhealthy & needs to stop but I really really can't!!!

It's made me think that maybe this obsessive behaviour is some sort of symptom of my illness. Any thoughts? Has anyone else experienced this?

KP1

KP1

Founding Member
Welcome to the forum Lizzie.
Don't know what to answer on the relationship issue I'm afraid.
Kp

S

shelly33

Hi Lizzie, :welcome: