• Welcome! It’s great to see you.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

is hearing voices curable?

J

Jodih124

I have been hearing voices for about 4 years. For a week during Christmas all the voices and visions went away completely. Unfortunately, they came back. Any advice on completely getting rid of hearing voices. It is terrible to live with.

S

schizolanza

ACCOUNT CLOSED
Presumably you've tried some medications which haven't worked?
My psychiatrist is going to start me on clozapine.If it works I'll let you know.

R

rabina

It Is Possible...

I have been hearing voices for about 4 years. For a week during Christmas all the voices and visions went away completely. Unfortunately, they came back. Any advice on completely getting rid of hearing voices. It is terrible to live with.
Jodih,
Many hear voices for only a period of time in their lives.
You mention the voices went away for about a week during Christmas.
Do you have any idea or have you made any other observations as to when the voices and visions go away if they have ever gone away besides this one time at Christmas?
It would be good if you kept a journal on all of your observations about the voices and visions including the dates and time of the day or night as well as the locations; all you can think of.
I've made many observations about the voice I hear and coincidentally the voice I hear usually doesn't speak on any Holy Days or Holy Weeks or Sunday's...Perhaps we have something in common; I'm not sure though.
Good Luck To You and Keep Those Records; it can help.

S

scrappy

some people are lucky and their meds make the voices go away completely... unfortunately not everyone is as lucky as that and a sizeable proportion of people are left with some voices or no difference in their voices even with powerful meds.